Skip to main content

Delaware Collection and Sound Recording Collection: Access Policy

Contact the Reference Desk!

To request items in the William C. Jason Library's Delaware Collection or its Sound recording Collection, please visit the library's reference desk on the first floor of the library. 

Please call (302) 857-6191 if you have questions.

I need an item from the University's Archives and Special Collections!

Library users interested in photographs or documents related to Delaware State University's history should contact the University's Archivist. The Archivist is the only university employee permitted to pull these types of materials for library users.

Delaware Collection and Sound Recording Collection Access

Delaware Collection and Sound Recording Collection access policy

 

What are these collections and where are they located?

The Delaware Collection is the William C. Jason Library’s local history collection, containing over 3500 books and documents on or relevant to the history of the state of Delaware. It also contains limited information about the histories of other states in the Mid-Atlantic region of the United States. The Sound Recording Collection is an LP record collection with over 1050 recorded music and audiobook sound recordings from the mid and late 20th century, with a significant portion of the collection dedicated to classical music.   

Both the Delaware Collection and the Sound Recording Collection are located in the University Archive, an enclosed space on the first floor of the William C. Jason Learning Center that houses and exhibits Delaware State University’s Archives and Special Collections. Although they share the same space, the Delaware Collection and Sound Recording Collection are distinguished from the University Archives and Special Collections and have different access policies. Users who need Archive materials must make arrangements with the Archivist and Special Collections Librarian, who is the only university employee permitted to pull items from that collection.

 

Accessing the Collections

The Delaware Collection and the Sound Recording Collection are non-circulating collections and public access to them is restricted. Users cannot retrieve items from these collections themselves and they cannot remove these items from the library building.

Library users who need specific items from the Delaware Collection or the Sound Recording Collection should ask for assistance at the library’s reference desk. The reference librarians on duty at this desk will be able to offer assistance with looking up items on the library’s catalog and filling out the form required to make a requests for these items. After this form is completed, the reference librarian will use it to retrieve the items on the behalf of the user.

Library users cannot access these collections when the reference desk is closed or otherwise unstaffed. Regular hours for the reference desk are as follows:

Monday – Thursday, 8:00 AM – 10:00 PM

Friday, 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Saturday, 12:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Sunday, 2:00 PM – 10:00 PM

These hours are subject to change during holidays and when the university’s classes are not in session. The general public is strongly encouraged to call ahead to make sure the reference desk will be open during their planned visit.

 

Collection Circulation

The resources in the Delaware Collection and the Sound Recording Collection are for available for use by the public. Library users cannot remove these items from the library building, but they can freely read, listen to, or make copyright-compliant copies of items.

 

Responsibilities of Library Users

The items in these collections may be in delicate condition or difficult for the library to replace. We ask that library users not deface, damage, handle food/drink around, lose or leave requested items from these collections open to theft while using them. Users must bring their requested items back to the reference desk when they are finished.

 

Further Questions

Library users with further questions about the Delaware Collection, the Sound Recording Collection or the procedures needed to access them can contact the William C. Jason Library’s reference desk at (302)857-6180.