Skip to main content

Welcome to the DSU Archives!: Home

The Delaware State University Archives is home to the historic records of the University community.

Archives Location

The archive is located on the first floor of the WIlliam C. Jason Library in room 121.

Walk below the spiral staircase and proceed past the reference desk.  The archives is located to the left of the elevator.

Archives Hours

Monday: 8am - 4pm

Tuesday: 8am - 4pm

Wednesday: 8am - 4pm

Thursday: 8am - 4pm

Friday: 8am - 4pm

**Closed daily for lunch from 12:00 pm until 1:00 pm.  Walk-ins are welcome, but calling ahead or making an appointment is highly recommended.

User Registration Form

All users of the archives are required to fill out a registration form. It is available below should you wish to complete it prior to your visit.

About the Archives

      The Delaware State University Archives was formally established in 2012. Since then it has been the repository for all records of enduring historic value created by former and current  University Presidents, Students, Faculty, and Administrative Departments.

      The archival collections include historic photographs, yearbooks, school newspapers, newsletters, course catalogs, and the business papers of administrative offices.  The archives is additionally home to special collections comprised of artifactual materials and sports paraphernalia.

Visiting the Archives

Anyone can access the Delaware State University Archives! You don't have to be a DSU faculty member, student, or alumni. How you can visit the DSU archives:

1) In Person - The archives office is open Monday through Friday from 8:00am until 4:00pm with the exception of a lunch hour from 12:00pm until 1:00pm. While walk-ins are always welcome, calling ahead to set up an appointment is highly recommended. This will ensure that your visit does not coincide with a conflict in the archivist's schedule.  It will additionally allow the archivist time to locate your requested materials.

2) By Email - If you are unable to visit the Delaware State University Campus in Dover, you are welcome to submit a reference request via the archivist's email (rscherry@desu.edu).  The archivist will describe the materials and collections pertinent to your request.  She can make a small number of records available to you by scanning them and forwarding them to an email address. 

3) By Phone - You may also call the University Archivist at 302-857-6130.

In order to give your request the fullest consideration, the University Archivist will reply to your initial reference request within approximately a week.  Many collections are currently unprocessed and require extenuated periods of time to search.  Your patience is appreciated.

 

University Archivist