LibGuides: University Archives: Collection Descriptions

University Archives - Photographic collections

Office of Public Relations Photograph collection
Collection is comprised of photographic materials including prints, negatives, and slides aggregated from Office of Public Relations records transfers. Last updated 9/2018
Office of Alumni Relations Photograph collection
Collection is comprised of photographic materials including prints, negatives, and slides collected by the Office of Alumni Relations. Last updated 7/2016
DSC Sports Photographs, c. 1945-1965
Collection contains five folders of baseball, basketball, and football photographs from the era of Bennie "Catfish" George. Last updated 8/2017
Pauline Walker Wilkins
Black and white photographs (53) featuring students on the campus Delaware State College. The photographs are believed to have been captured circa 1949, the year of Mrs. Wilkins’ graduation. Last updated 5/2018.

University Archives - Records

Collection processing is an ongoing effort. As collections are formally processed and updated, the respective completed finding aids will be published. If your area of interest is not represented here it does not necessarily mean that records pertaining to your search do not exist. Please call us at 302-857-6130 to learn more.

1968 Student Unrest
The 1968 Unrest collection details the events surrounding the DSC student demonstrations led by Leroy Tate in May 1968. Last updated 6/2019
Administrative Council
Meeting minutes and materials of the University President's Administrative council. Last updated 8/2017
American Association of University Professors (AAUP)
Materials documenting the faculty union at Delaware State.
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees
Materials documenting the union of American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees at Delaware State.
Board of Trustees minutes and materials, 1891-2017
This collection is comprised largely of minutes and materials from Board meetings as well as records of sub-committees. Collective Bargaining agreements are found within this collection. Last updated 2/2018
Course catalogs
An inventory of undergraduate and graduate course catalogs. The collection also includes supplemental materials for evening school, continuing education, and other community, non-degree courses of study. Last updated 3/2020
Delaware Postsecondary Education Commission, 1972-1980
Records of the DPEC whose primary function was to study, improve, expand, and create consistency among the institutions of higher education in Delaware. Last updated 8/2017.
Department of Nursing
This collection traces the history of the nursing degree program from its first conception in 1972 to 2014. The majority of the records consist of course syllabi and reports exchanged with accrediting authorities and the Delaware Board of Nursing. Last updated March 2019.
Division of Student Affairs
Materials documenting the Division of Student Affairs, including student handbooks.
Early College High School collection
The ECHS collection is comprised of documents from the development and growth of the school. This includes the charter school application, event programs from the first-ever graduation, and more. The collection also contains high school graduation gowns. Last updated 7/2019.
Employment materials
Items documenting employment practices and procedures, including employee handbooks.
Faculty Publications, 1962-2007
A collection of faculty manuscripts, journal articles, conference presentations, grant applications, and IRB reviews. Collection also includes Faculty Journal from 1968-1989. Last updated 11/2018
Faculty Senate
Meeting minutes, degree and course revision proposals, and other materials relating to the academic governance of the university by the Faculty Senate. Last updated 4/2021.
Gospel choir
Materials documenting the Delaware State gospel choir.
Carlos Holmes collection
This collection contains news clippings preserved by C. Holmes in his capacity as Director of News Services. It additionally holds ephemera pursuant to his role as de facto historian, event programs, and phone directories. Last updated 6/2021
Honors Program
Materials documenting activities related to the Honors Program, such as Honors Day.
Hornet Student Newspaper
The State Lantern and The Hornet student publications. Last updated 1/2016
Robin Krawitz collection of Historic Preservation records
This collection consists of records collected by R. Krawitz as the director of the Historic Preservation masters program. It additionally includes records of her personal work in the field.
Loockerman Hall, 1965-2017
An artificial collection or records and photographs pertaining to the restoration of Loockerman hall. Primarily committee meeting minutes, financial reports, and research about the building. Last updated 12/2017
Middle States Association collection
The collection primarily features extensive Self-study reports and periodic review reports prepared for accreditation by Middle States. The collection reveals the historic structure and operation of Delaware State University. Last updated 11/2017
Luna I. Mishoe collection
Administrative records from the Office of the President during Luna I. Mishoe’s tenure from 1960 to 1987. Last updated 4/2021.
A. Myrna Nurse collection
A collection of three items written or led by Dr. Nurse - a manuscript, a report calling to cap the number of students in English composition classes, and a learning communities committee manual. Last updated 6/2021
Office of Admissions
Photographic and audio-visual materials captured for admissions marketing initiatives. Last updated 9/2017.
Office of Alumni Affairs [including The Echo]
Records of the Office of Alumni Affairs, also known as Alumni Relations. Includes The Echo (alumni magazine).
Office of Career Planning and Placement
Records of the Office of Career Planning and Placement.
Office of Development
Records of the Office of Development, including those relating to fundraising.
Office of Institutional Research and Analysis
Records of the Office of Institutional Research and Analysis.
Office of the President - William B. DeLauder
Records received and created by Dr. William B. DeLauder and his secretarial staff. Primarily includes correspondence, grant applications, meeting records, and travel itineraries. Last Updated 5/2019
Office of Public Relations
Records of the Office of Public Relations, including several campus newsletters.
Dragoljub Pokrajac, "Dr. Pokie" collection
Dr. Dragolujub Pokrajac was an information sciences faculty member at Delaware State University from 2002 until 2018. His collection is largely comprised of research posters and scholarly publications for his research in the area of spatial-temporal data mining. Last updated 6/2018
Personnel materials
A collection of employee handbooks, manuals, and policies for Faculty, staff, and student workers. Collection also includes telephone directories. Last updated 11/2018
Programs
An artificial collection of event programs and announcements for both annual and one-time events. Last updated 11/2018
State College for Colored Students collection, 1891-1947
An artificial collection of records from the SCCS. Collection primarily includes ledger books detailing Sunday school activities, matriculation, a journal of Samuel Conwell, Echo newspaper sales, and incoming mail. Other records include student report cards [restricted], W. C. Jason papers, finance reports, and more. Last updated 1/2018
University Athletics
Records pertaining to sporting activities and the University Athletics department.
William C. Jason Library-Learning Center collection
A collection comprised of administrative files including staff meeting minutes and correspondence, records of library building construction and renovations, annual reports, event programs, library newsletters, publications, and documents of Title III grants given to the library and university at large. Last updated 4/2018.
Harriet R. Williams collection
William's handwritten research notes regarding the history of Delaware State College. Notes primarily focus on early history through Gregg administration. Last updated 1/2019
Yearbook [The Delawarean and The Statesman]
Inventory of available issues of the yearbook. Last updated 6/2015

Special Collections donated by Alumni

Donald A. Blakey
Records and artifacts representative of Donald Blakey's career at Delaware State College, and local and state government. Last updated 11/2017
Douglas A. Gibson Waterfowl Decoy collection
A collection of 10 hand-carved and painted duck decoys. Last updated 4/2018
Eula Maloy Oliver
A collection of personal photographs and yearbooks donated t by Eula Oliver, a student at the “DuPont” high school and DSC in the latter 1950’s and early 1960’s. Last updated 1/2016.
Mary Maloy Scott
A collection of three scrapbooks featuring student life at DSC dated between 1950 and 1955; as well as individual items pertaining to Alpha Kappa Alpha and Mrs. Scott's professional achievement. Last updated 8/2017
Prettyman Family collection
The Prettyman Family collection is comprised of the records, photographs, and artifacts of three generations of Prettyman family members who attended Delaware State University. The majority of items found here are photographs, DSU clothing, and event programs collected by James A. Prettyman between 1960 and 1990. Last updated 3/2018.
Viola Young Scrivens
Collection includes event programs, invitations, and publications from the State College for Colored Students dated between 1929 and 1944. Mrs. Scrivens was a high school student at SCCS and later an employee. Last updated 3/2016
Pauline Walker Wilkins
Black and white photographs (53) featuring students on the campus Delaware State College. The photographs are believed to have been captured circa 1949, the year of Mrs. Wilkins’ graduation. Last updated 5/2018.

Time Capsules

Laws Hall time capsule
Seven items found within a time capsule taken from the cornerstone of the Lydia P. Laws residence hall. The capsule was removed and opened on May 21, 2018. Last updated 5/2018.
Martin Luther King Student Center time capsule
Items found within the 1968 time capsule from the cornerstone of the former Martin Luther King Student Center. Capsule was opened in 2010. Last updated 3/2021.
Memorial Hall time capsule
Items found within the Memorial Hall time capsule removed from the cornerstone in 2008. Last updated 3/2021
Tubman Hall time capsule
Items found within the cornerstone time capsule from Tubman residence Hall. Capsule was opened July 2019. Last updated 7/2019

Special Collections - Other

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Epsilon Iota Omega
Records relating to the chapter’s administration, activities at the AKA North Atlantic Regional Conference, community service and debutante cotillion.
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., Tau Omicron
This collection contains records created by Alpha Kappa Alpha, Tau Omicron, chartered at Wesley College on November 18, 2012. The collection primarily contains meeting minutes, reports to AKA Sorority, Inc., and Member Intake Process (MIP) applications of undergraduate women seeking to join. Last updated 4/2019

University Archives: Collection Descriptions

What are Finding Aids?

University Archives - Photographic collections

University Archives - Records

Special Collections donated by Alumni

Time Capsules

Special Collections - Other