The Sound Recording Collection is an LP record collection with over 1050 recorded music and audiobook sound recordings from the mid and late 20th century. The library has music and other recordings available in other physical formats, but they are not a part of this collection. The "Sound Recording Collection" refers specifically to this collection of LP records.
Library users cannot bring these recordings home with them, although they can use the library's record player to listen to them inside the library building. The process for requesting items from the Sound Recording collection is the same one used to request items from the Delaware Collection.
Library users who need an item from the Sound Recording Collection must:
1) Ask for a Delaware Collection/Sound Recording Collection request form at the library's reference desk.
2) Search for items using the library's catalog. (A reference librarian can demonstrate how to do this if you have never done it before.)
3) Use the information in the catalog to write the name and call number for each item you need to request on the form. Fill out the rest of the request form in its entirety.
4) Give the form to the reference librarian on duty at the reference desk.
Use the William C. Jason Library Catalog to search for sound recordings. You can find it here.
Clicking the "Power" link in the dark blue bar near the top of the screen will take you to a search page that allows you to limit the items you're searching for to a specific type of media.
Highlight the type of media you are interested in searching (Recordings), type in your search terms and click on the red and white arrow button to conduct your search.
To request an item from the Sound Recordings Collection you will need to find the name and call number for that item.
Both of these are visible on the search results page.
Clicking on the title of the item will take you to a page that has even more details about it. You can also find the title and call number for it here.
