LibGuides: Psychology: Books & EBooks

WorldCat Local Search Box

Search Delaware State University & Beyond...

The Search box above can also be found on the main DSU Library page.

Click on the Book tab if you are looking for books. All books at DSU will come appear first on your result list highlighted in green or you can change the Libraries Worldwide to Delaware State University by changing the pull down menu. You can also search the Classic Jason Catalog to search for books and journals available in print.

Print books and resources

Print books are shelved using Library of Congress call numbers. The letters and numbers on the spine label show where the book is shelved and divide the collection into disciplines (what they're about.)

The first letter is a broad discipline (eg. B = All Psychology, Philosophy & Religion. R = All Medicine)

The second letter narrows it down (eg. BF = Psychology only. RC = Internal medicine only)

The numbers narrow it down into smaller sub-topics.

---------------------------------------------

Here are some sections to browse:

BF 1 to BF 990: Psychology (3rd floor)
BF 309-499: Consciousness and cognition (learning, attention, memory, intelligence)
BF 501-505: Motivation
BF 712-724: Developmental psychology (incl. child & adolescent)

HM: Sociology (3rd floor)
HM 1001-1281: Social psychology (social cognition, self & others, prejudice & stereotype) Interpersonal relations.

LB: Theory & practice of education (4th floor)
LB 1050.9-1091: Educational psychology

RC 321-571: Neurosciences (5th floor)
RC 435-571: Psychiatry
RC 554-571: Disorders and behavior problems; intellectual & developmental disabilities

Psychology Reference Books

These books are located in the Reference Collection on the Library's First Floor.

Reference resources are available for In-Library-Use only.

Measures for Clinical Practice and Research, Volume 1 by Kevin Corcoran (Editor); Joel Fischer (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF176 .C66 2013
ISBN: 9780199778584
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
This seminal 2-volume book contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools for use in clinical practice and in research. All measures are critiqued by the editors, who provide guidance on how to select and score them and the actual measures are wholly reproduced. Vol 1: Couples, Families, and Children; Vol 2: Adults
Handbook of Multicultural Assessment by Lisa A. Suzuki (Editor); Paul J. Meller (Editor); Joseph G. Ponterotto (Editor)
Call Number: REF BF176 .H36 2001
ISBN: 9780787951771
Publication Date: 2000-12-04
This thorough analysis of multicultural assessment covers significant issues, including the major instruments and procedures, cognitive and educational assessment, and cross-cultural sensitivity and ethics.
Flow by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi
Call Number: REF BF 575 .H27 C85 2008
ISBN: 9780061339202
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Legendary psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi's famous investigations of "optimal experience" have revealed that what makes an experience genuinely satisfying is a state of consciousness called flow.
Encyclopedia of Stress by George Fink (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: REF BF575.S75 E52 2000
ISBN: 9780122267352
Publication Date: 2000-04-03
This encyclopaedia provides a reference source of knowledge on stressors, the biological mechanisms involved in the stress response, the effects of activating the stress response mechanisms and the disorders that may arise as a consequence of acute or chronic stress.

E-books

Psychology eBooks at DSU
This is a direct link to search results for 'Psychology' in DSU's eBook collections.

You can change the words in the search bar at the top of these results (eg. try "stress" or "adolescents") for different results that are still within the eBooks available at DSU.

Books from the Jason Library

Suggested E-Books from our collection

You will need to register your D# with the library to be admitted to these resources. If you have not used DSU Library's online resources before, you will need to register your D# using the Library Patron Form.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780890425572
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care.
Media Psychology 101 by Christopher J. Ferguson
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780826196736
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Provides an interdisciplinary overview and critical examination of how individuals are affected by mass media. There are few areas of modern social science that are as fiercely debated as media psychology. Written by one of the foremost experts on the topic, this is a concise overview of what is known -- and not known -- about how individuals are affected by and interact with various forms of mass media.
Black Mental Health by Ezra E. H. Griffith (Editor); Billy E. Jones (Editor); Altha J. Stewart (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781615372065
Publication Date: 2018-09-24
Black Mental Health: Patients, Providers, and Systems examines the role of African Americans within American psychiatric health care from distinct but interconnected perspectives. The experiences of both black patients and the black mental health professionals who serve them are analyzed against the backdrop of the cultural, societal, and professional forces that have shaped their place in this specialized health care arena.... A chapter on historically black colleges and universities discusses the importance of their role in the delivery of psychiatric services and research development for African Americans.
Behaviorism, Consciousness, and the Literary Mind by Joshua Gang
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781421440842
Publication Date: 2021-11-16
What might behaviorism, that debunked school of psychology, tell us about literature? Why do we perceive the minds of characters, narrators, and speakers as if they were comparable to our own? In Behaviorism, Consciousness, and the Literary Mind, Joshua Gang offers a radical new approach to these questions, which are among the most challenging philosophical problems faced by literary study today. Today, behaviorism has relatively little scientific value, but Gang argues for its enormous critical value for thinking about why language is so good at creating illusions of mental life.
Seeing Race Again by Kimberlé Williams Crenshaw (Editor); Luke Charles Harris (Editor); Daniel Martinez HoSang (Editor); George Lipsitz (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780520300996
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
Racial hierarchy and colonialism structured the very foundations of most disciplines' research and teaching paradigms. By the mid-twentieth century, education itself became a center in the struggle for social justice. Scholars mounted insurgent efforts to discredit some of the most odious intellectual defenses of white supremacy in academia, but the disciplines and their keepers remained unwilling to interrogate many of the racist foundations of their fields, instead embracing a framework of racial colorblindness as their default position. This book challenges scholars and students to see race again.
Science over Stigma by Daniel B. Morehead
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781615373079
Publication Date: 2021-04-13
Recent surveys have found that the vast majority of the public believes that mental illness is real and treatable. And yet, fewer than half of people with diagnosable mental illnesses get treatment in any given year, and of those who do, only half adhere to it. What accounts for the disconnect? In Science Over Stigma, Dr. Morehead argues that it is time for a full-throated defense of mental health treatment, and that it falls to everyone, from medical and mental health professionals to the general public, to advocate on its behalf.
Psychology and Politics: Intersections of Science and Ideology in the History of Psy-Sciences by Anna Borgos, Ferenc Erős, Júlia Gyimesi
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789633862827
Publication Date: 2019
Psy-sciences (psychology, psychiatry, psychoanalysis, pedagogy, criminology, special education, etc.) have been connected to politics in different ways since the early twentieth century. Here in twenty-two essays scholars address a variety of these intersections from a historical perspective. The chapters include such diverse topics as the cultural history of psychoanalysis, the complicated relationship between psychoanalysis and the occult, and the struggles for dominance between the various schools of psychology.
Neurodiversity by Lawrence K. Fung (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781615373024
Publication Date: 2021-05-24
An introduction to the strengths-based model of neurodiversity, designed to integrate and build on existing theories of positive psychology, multiple intelligences, and developmental psychology and to apply them to devise strengths-based assessments and interventions for neurodiverse individuals. This book explores social models of disability as the starting point for strengths-based approaches to neurodiversity, translating them into approaches to support, educate, and enable people with neurodifferences to function successfully in educational and work environments.
Minding Bodies by Susan Hrach
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781949199987
Publication Date: 2021-04-30
Starting from new research on the body, Minding Bodies aims to help instructors improve their students' knowledge and skills through physical movement, attention to the spatial environment, and sensitivity to humans as more than "brains on sticks." It shifts the focus of adult learning from an exclusively mental effort toward an embodied, sensory-rich experience, offering new strategies to maximize the effectiveness of time spent learning together on campus as well as remotely.
Mental Health, Substance Use, and Wellbeing in Higher Education by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Health and Medicine Division; Policy and Global Affairs; Board on Health Sciences Policy; Board on Higher Education and Workforce; Committee on Mental Health, Substance Use, and Wellbeing in STEMM Undergraduate and Graduate Education; Layne A. Scherer (Editor); Alan I. Leshner (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780309124126
Publication Date: 2021-03-05
Mental Health, Substance Use, and Wellbeing in Higher Education lays out a variety of possible strategies and approaches to meet increasing demand for mental health and substance use services, based on the available evidence on the nature of the issues and what works in various situations. The recommendations of this report will support the delivery of mental health and wellness services by the nation's institutions of higher education.
Where Culture and Mind Meet by Brady Wagoner; Kevin R. Carriere
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781648022562
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Cultural psychology explores the mutual constitution of persons-minds and social-cultural worlds. It aims to be both transdisciplinary and international in its approach, and to develop theoretical models that remain faithful to people's lived experiences. This volume further advances these objectives through an exploration of core concepts (especially, normativity, liminality, and resistance), cultural psychology's foundations in philosophy, and the translation of theory into a methodology for investigating distinctly human ways of relating to the world.
Social (in)Justice and Mental Health by Ruth S. Shim (Editor); Sarah Y. Vinson (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781615373383
Publication Date: 2020-12-09
Social justice entails equal access to liberties, rights, and opportunities, as well as care for the least advantaged members of society. The paradigm-shifting new book Social (In)Justice and Mental Health addresses the ways in which society's failure to deliver on that humane ideal harms people with mental illness.
Signature Wounds by David Kieran
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781479892365
Publication Date: 2019-04-02
The surprising story of the Army's efforts to combat PTSD and traumatic brain injury. Drawing on previously unreleased documents and oral histories, David Kieran tells the broad and nuanced story of the Army's efforts to understand and address these issues. The story of mental health during this war is the story of how different groups--soldiers, veterans and their families, anti-war politicians, researchers and clinicians, and military leaders--approached these issues from different perspectives and with different agendas.