LibGuides: Psychology: Journals & Databases

Psychology Databases

Best Bets for Psychology

These databases are the best ones to use for your discipline.

APA PsycArticles
Contains full-text access to 133 scholarly journals in the field of psychology and behavioral sciences.
Psychiatry Online eJournals -- Funded by Title III This link opens in a new window
This database offers the most comprehensive online access to psychiatric textbooks, journals, and professional development tools. The database also includes the Psychiatry Legacy Collection Online Journals 1844-1996. This all-in-one virtual library provides psychiatrists and mental health professionals with key resources for diagnosis, treatment, research, and professional development.
PsychiatryOnline eBook Collection includes DSM Library -- Funded by Title III This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline database offers the most comprehensive online access to psychiatric textbooks and professional development tools.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

Other Useful Databases

These databases are multi-disciplinary and contain a larger and wide variety of journals in many fields, including psychology. They would be a great choice if your research crosses between psychology and another field (eg. psychology and nursing; or psychology and education; or psychology and business.)

Sage 2022 eJournals Online This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 520 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. DSU also has Backfile Archives access to nearly 500 journals covering all academic disciplines.
JSTOR Archival content databases
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts and more. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources.
Wiley Online Library Open Access This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library includes online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. The library has backfile access to 45 core titles.

Proquest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

WorldCat Dissertations and Theses (OCLC FirstSearch)
All dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects.

Scholarly Journals / Popular Magazines

General Guidelines	Scholarly Journals	Popular Magazines
Audience	Scholars, researchers, practitioners	General public
Authors	Experts in the field (faculty members, researchers)	Magazine staff members, journalists, freelance writers
Footnotes	Includes a bibliography, references, notes, and/or works cited section	Rarely includes footnotes
Editors	Editorial board of outside scholars (known as peer review)	Editors work for publisher
Publishers	Often a scholarly or professional organization	Commercial, for profit
Writing Style	Assumes a level of knowledge in the field	Easy to read, aimed at the layperson
Indexes and Abstracts	Indexed in subject-specialized indexes such as Education Index, Index Medicus, or PsychLit	Indexed in general periodical indexes such as Index to Black Periodicals or Readers Guide
Overall Look/Layout	Primarily print with few pictures. Tables, graphs and diagrams are often included. If there are ads, they are for books or conferences.	Contains ads and photographs. Glossy
Examples	Journal of Abnormal Psychology Journal of Health EducationPsychology of Women Quarterly	NewsweekLife National Geographic

Psychology Journals

Below is a select list of some of the psychology journals to which we have electronic access.

You will need to enter your D# to be admitted to these resources. If you have not used DSU Library's online resources before, you will need to register your D# using the Library Patron Form.

---------------------------------------------------------

American Psychologist

Asian American Journal of Psychology

Aviation Psychology and Applied Human Factors

Behavior Analysis: Research and Practice

Crisis: The Journal of Crisis Intervention and Suicide Prevention

Cultural Diversity and Ethnic Minority Psychology

Emotion

Families, Systems, & Health

History of Psychology

Journal of Latinx Psychology

Journal of Media Psychology: Theories, Methods, and Applications