|
Distance Learners: To access all library databases, ejournals and ebooks you will need your student ID number assigned by the university. This starts with the capital letter 'D' followed by eight digits. Example: D12345678 Please contact Circulation @ 302.857.6191 if your library card number does not work. Due to vendor licensing agreements, off-campus access is restricted to Delaware State University students, faculty and staff. |
Types of Information...
1. Scholarly articles are written by professionals in the field
-- authors are subject matter experts, the information and data has been researched & reviewed
2. Non-scholarly articles are written in popular magazines
-- information is not researched
-- articles are often biased and based on opinions
3. Trade publications cover business trends, new products or techniques, and organizational news
-- written by staff or contributing authors
4. Primary Sources are original documents or records of events described by someone who participated or witnessed the events. For example: government census, historical documents, statistical data, or manuscripts.
5. Secondary Sources are works that have been analyzed, an interpretation or review of the original work. For example: reviews, monographs, handbooks or literary criticisms.
Types of Databases...
1. Abstract Databases - are not full text (provide citation or abstract information) Examples: OCLC FIRSTSEARCH, OVID MEDLINE, PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, PsycINFO®, PubMed
2. Full text databases - full text databases contain the entire journal article and abstract
Examples: SAGE eJournals, LexisNexis Academic, SpringerLink eJournals, JSTOR, EBSCOHost Education Research Complete, CINAHL Plus® with Full Text, and Project Muse Basic Research.