Style guides for a variety of formatting styles are available in our reference section for use in the library. Please ask at the front desk for assistance finding them or scanning/copying a section, if needed.
|
MLA handbook: LB2369 .G53 2016 |
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association : the official guide to APA style: |
|
The Chicago manual of style (Reference, 1st floor): Z253 .U69 2010 |
Cite Right (Reference, 1st floor): PN171.F56 L55 2018 |
The MLA Handbook is used to cite references/sources in the humanities (English composition, Literature, History, Religion, etc.).
How to cite Books
Format:
Name: Last, First, Middle initial. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year Published. Medium.
Examples:
One author
Fleming, Jacqueline. Enhancing Minority Student Retention and Academic Performance. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2012. Print.
Hannell, Glynis. Identifying Special Needs: Checklists for Profiling Individual Differences. New York, NY: Routledge, 2014. Print.
Two or Three authors
Fisher, Andy, and Kate Exley.
Fisher, Andy, Kate Exley, and Dragos Ciobanu. Using Technology to Support Learning and Teaching. New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2014. Print.
Four or More authors
If the book has four or more authors, include all names or only the name of the first author followed by “et al” as show below:
Husted, Gladys L., James H. Husted, Carrie J. Scotto, and Kimberly M. Wolf.
Husted, Gladys L., et al. Bioethical Decision Making in Nursing. New York: Springer Publishing Company, 2015. Print.
Group author
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2009.
No author
If there is no author begin with the title.
Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Medium.
Example: American Jewish Desk Reference: the Ultimate One-volume Reference to the Jewish Experience in America. New York: Random House, 1999. Print.
Book with Editors
Example:
Tagliaferri, Mary, Isaac Cohen, and Debu Tripathy, eds. Breast Cancer: Beyond Convention: the World’s Foremost Authorities on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Offer Advice on Healing. New York: Atria Books, 2003. Print.
Edition other than the first
Example:
Esposito, John L. What Everyone Needs to Know About Islam. 2nd. ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011. Print.
Revised edition
Example:
Shotwell, James T. The History of History. Rev. ed. New York: Columbia University Press, 1939. Print.
Multi-volume set
Example:
Lomotey, Kofi, ed. Encyclopedia of African American Education. 2vols. California: Sage Publications, Inc., 2010. Print.
How to cite an Anthology
Format:
If citing an essay, a short story, a poem, or another work that appears within an anthology or some other book collection you need to follow this format. Author, title, and (if relevant) translator of the part of the book being cited. Begin the entry with the name of the author, followed by the title of the work in quotation marks. The name of the Anthology. Editor Edition. City: publisher. Year, page(s). Print.
Example:
Poe, Edgar Allan. “The Sleeper.” The Norton Anthology of American Literature. Ed. Nina Baym, et al. 5th. ed. New York: Norton & Company, 1998, 1487. Print.
No date
Format:
Author’s name. Title of book. N.d. Type of work. City, Source. Web. Date.
Examples:
Heckman, Albert. Windblown Trees. N.d. Lithograph on paper. Private Collection.
Moholy-Nagy, Laszlo. Photogram. N.d. Museum of Mod. Art, New York.
How to cite Encyclopedia articles or Dictionary entry
Format:
Last Name, First Name (if provided). “Title of Entry.”
Title of Encyclopedia or Dictionary. Edition (if provided). Year. Medium
Example:
Mizrahi, Terry, and Larry E. Davis Eds. “Advocacy.” Encyclopedia of Social Work 20th Edition. 2008. Print.
“Decanter.” Webster’s II New College Dictionary. 2001. Print
Government Publication
Format:
Cite the author of the publication if the author is identified. If not, start with the name of the national government, followed by the agency (including any subdivisions or agencies) that serves as the organizational author. For congressional documents, be sure to include the number of the Congress and the session when the hearing was held or resolution passed. US government documents are typically published by the Government Printing Office, MLA use the abbreviation GPO.
Example:
United States. Congressional Directory. 110th Cong., Washington: GPO, 2007-2008. Print
How to cite Two or More Books from Same Author
With two or more titles from the same author, the subsequent entries are listed as ---. (three hyphens and a period) instead of repeating the name.
Example:
Piazza, Tom. City of Refuge: a Novel. New York: Harper. 2008. Print
---. Why New Orleans Matters. New York, NY: Regan Books. 1st Ed. 2005. Print.
How to cite E-Books
If the edition, volume or series is not available, leave it out.
Format:
Name: Last, First, Middle initial. Title of Book. Edition. City of Publication: Publisher. Year of Publication. Series. Name of Database. Medium. Date Month Year Accessed.
Title of Book: Subtitle of Book
Examples:
Oermann, Marilyn H., and Kathleen B. Gaberson. Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education. 4th ed. New York: Springer Publishing Company. 2014. EBSCOhost eBook. Web. 25 May 2016.
Fisher, Jill A. Gender and the Science of Difference: Cultural Politics of Contemporary Science and Medicine. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press. 2011. Studies in Modern Science, Technology, and the Environment. EBSCOhost eBook . Web. 25 May 2016.
Horowitz, David. Reforming Our Universities: The Campaign for an Academic Bill of Rights. New York, NY: Regnery Publishing. 2010. ebrary. Web. 25 May 2016.
Brown, Christopher, M. II, and Kassie Freeman. Black Colleges: New Perspectives on Policy and Practice. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press. 2004. ebrary. Web. 25 May 2016.
How to Cite Journal Articles
Format:
Author’s name, Title of the article (in quotation marks), Name of the periodical (italicized), Series number or name (if relevant), Volume number (for a scholarly journal), Issue number (if available, Date of publication (for a scholarly journal, the year, for other periodicals, the day, month, and year, as available), inclusive page numbers, Medium of publication consulted (Print), and (Web).
Short form:
Author’s name. “Title of the article.” Publication information.
Note: Print magazines are cited much the same way as online publications except that (Print) is the medium used instead of (Web), and you do not include an access date.
Example:
Krause, Jennifer M., and Eddie A. Benavidez. “Potential Influences of Exergaming on Self-efficacy for Physical Activity and Sport.” Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance 85.4 (2014) April: 15-20. Print.
Magazine Article
Online
Sills, Ben. “Banks Curb Carbon Trading.” Business Week 19 Dec. 2011:1. ProQuest Research Library. Web. 1 June 2016.
Altman, Alex. “Crime and Politics.” Time 16 May 2015: 40-41. Print.
Lewis-McCoy, R. L’Heureux. “Our Kids; Whose History?” Ebony February 4 (2016): 102-104. Print.
Databases
Scholarly Article in an Online Database
Examples:
Gale, Trevor, and Stephen Parker. “Navigating Change: A Typology of Student Transition in Higher Education.” Studies in Higher Education 39.5(2014): 734-753. Education Research Complete. Web. 14 June 2016.
Habich, Michele, and MariJo Letizia. “Pediatric Pain Assessment in the Emergency Department: A Nursing Evidence-Based Practice Protocol.” Pediatric Nursing 41.4(2015): 198-202. CINAL Plus. Web. 14 June 2016.
For additional citation from other sources see the link below to Easybib MLA citation style:
http://www.easybib.com/guides/citation-guides/mla-format/
http://liu.cwp.libguides.com/sb.php?subject_id=13235
