LibGuides: Graduate Education Resources: Journals & Databases

You will need your D# set up in the library's system in order to gain access to any journal or e-book in the library's electronic resources.

If you're a new library user, complete the PATRON FORM to have your library account set up. (Process usually takes ~10-15 minutes during library hours.)

If you believe your account is set up, but haven't used it in awhile, call 302-857-6191 or e-mail LIBCIRC@desu.edu and ask if your account is ready or needs renewal. You will be asked to provide your D#.

Databases

Education Research Complete (EBSCOHost) This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Project Muse Journals Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide.
Sage 2022 eJournals Online This link opens in a new window
Publishes more than 520 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. DSU also has Backfile Archives access to nearly 500 journals covering all academic disciplines.
Springer LYRASIS eJournals and eBooks This link opens in a new window
One of the world's leading interactive databases for high-quality STEM journals, book series, books, reference works and Online Archives.

Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis)
Provides coverage of news publications, news transcripts, and company information
JSTOR
Arts & Sciences Collection

Dissertations and Theses

Proquest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Search Engines

Search engines are tools for discovering what's out there. While you can find a lot of titles, authors, and abstracts, most of the content discovered is not actually available through the search engine itself.

If you find something you'd like to access, and it appears to be behind a paywall, reach out! We're very often able to access it through an Interlibrary Loan request or our own databases.

ERIC -- Education Resources Information Center -- Search Engine This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an online search engine of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

*Visit our ERIC Databases LibGuide for more details on how to best use this resource.*

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that will display information about scholarly articles. Some may be available through open-access, others through DSU databases, and some will need to be requested from other institutions.

A note about using Google Scholar: Google Scholar is a search engine that can find results from millions of scholarly articles. However, the majority of results will not be available directly through Google Scholar. Some may be open-access and freely available. Others will be available at DSU. Many will direct you to a paywall. We strongly encourage you to reach out to DSU Library Services if you reach a paywall as many articles can be requested from other institutions through Interlibrary Loan.