LibGuides: Primary Sources (African American History): Beyond DSU

Archives beyond DSU

National Archives
The largest collection of historical federal documents in the country. While they do offer some digitized projects, most of their collection is not online. Nearby local facilities are located in Philadelphia, and they are headquartered in Washington, D.C. Please prepare ahead before visiting these institutions as directed on the National Archives' website.

Use our WorldCat catalog, located here, to search for physical resources at Delaware State University and beyond. While you can obtain lots of resources from other schools and libraries using interlibrary loan, rare or older materials commonly have some borrowing restrictions. In those cases, it is best to contact the institution in question to arrange a visit to see the items that you are interested in.

Here are some specialized and local collections with valuable primary sources:

Amistad Research Center
The Amistad Research Center is the nation's oldest, largest and most comprehensive independent archive specializing in the history of African Americans and other Ethnic Minorities. Housed at Tulane University, New Orleans, LA.
Delaware Public Archives
The Archives, located in Dover, DE, holds more than 95,000 cubic feet of government records and historical documents relevant to the state of Delaware that are available for public use.
Delaware Historical Society
Collecting and preserving Delaware materials for over 135 years, the Society has a rich and varied collection of books, ephemera, newspapers, serials, maps, manuscripts and photographs relating to the history of Delaware and its people