Skip to main content

Interlibrary Loan/Resource Sharing: Resource Sharing (ILL) FAQs

Use this guide to request books, chapters and articles. This guide also provides information about Resource Sharing.

What is Resource Sharing?

1. What is Interlibrary Loan (ILL) / Resource Sharing? 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) provides books, technical reports, conference proceedings and photocopies of articles that are not available at the William C. Jason Library.

Requests for materials may be made directly through DSU's ILLiad Resource Sharing Management Software and multiple databases to which DSU subscribes (EBSCOHost Databases, Taylor & Francis, Wiley Online FIND IT @DSU, ProQuest Abstract Databases, and FirstSearch).

2. Who may borrow through the ILL service?

ILL services are available to all currently enrolled students (undergraduates and graduates), faculty, staff and administrators.

This service is NOT extended to special borrowers, alumni, or community library patrons with borrowing privileges.

3. How does electronic processing of document delivery work?

Requests submitted electronically through DSU's ILLiad Resource Sharing Management Software within EBSCOHost Databases, Taylor & Francis, Wiley Online FIND IT @DSU, ProQuest Abstract Databases, and FirstSearch databases are processed by Resource Sharing. Upon receipt of your article(s) you will receive notification via email. Your article(s) can then be retrieved and downloaded.

4. How many ILL requests may I submit at one time?

There is no limit.

5. What is the waiting period for receiving my ILL items?

William C. Jason Library is a member of OCLC Resource Sharing, a computer-based ILL network. Most requests are filled within two weeks, the average 5-to-10 days for books and 3-to-5 days for articles. However, completion time can vary greatly based on the availability of the material.

6. How am I notified that my ILL has arrived?

When your request arrives, you will be notified via email or telephone.

7. Where do I pick up my ILL in the William C. Jason Library?

All books requested through ILL may be picked up at, and returned to, the Circulation/Reserves desk during library hours of operation. For information on items you have requested, call 857-6135/6193 or email ill@desu.edu. Photocopied materials will be emailed to the requester and need not be returned unless otherwise indicated.

**** Note: Some libraries require that the materials they lend be used within the library only.

Reference Books, Microfilm, Video tapes and DVDs must be used in the library. The ILL notification will specify if this is the case.

8. Is there a charge for ILL materials?

Normally, there is no charge for basic ILL service at the William C. Jason Library. However, some lending libraries charge fees that are passed on to patrons.

In the interest of maintaining good working relationships with lending institutions, due dates must be honored. All borrowed items should be returned to the Circulation/Reserves desk.

****Note: Patrons are responsible for paying overdue fines to the lending library through the William C. Jason Library ILL office for books that are returned after the due date. Patrons are also responsible for replacement cost of lost books.

If a renewal is necessary, you may submit a renewal request via the ILLiad online form or contact us at (302) 857-6135/6193 or email at ill@desu.edu. Please allow enough time from the due date. 

If a renewal request is rejected by the lending institution, you will be notified by the ILL office.

9. Is this service available year-round?

Yes. Interlibrary loan is available all year.

Note:

The conditions of each transaction are set by the Interlibrary Loan Code of the American Library Association and by policies of the individual libraries