Skip to main content

How to access Electronic Resources: 3. Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

This guide describe How to access Electronic Resources.

  Need Help?

Help Desk

 Contact Information:

  • Library Technology
  • Reference (All reference & database related questions)
    • (302) 857-6180/7887/7886
    •  
  • Circulation (When your I.D. isn't working)
    • (302) 857-6191
    •  
  • Technical Services
    • (302) 857-6193
  • Government Documents
    • (302) 857-6191
  • Interlibrary Loan (The library materials you need are not available)

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. I entered my ID number but cannot get into any of the databases. I get a message "Sorry, Your identification is not recognized." Why?

  • Make sure you entered your patron ID number with no spaces or hyphens.  Contact the Library Circulation Desk (302) 857-6191 to verify the status of your ID.  If you are certain that you are using the correct ID number, but are still unable to access the databases, then you probably need to clear your temporary internet files and delete the cookies on your hard drive.

2. Cookies must be enable. How do I enable them?

If your Cookie settings are disabled, you will not be able to access your online subscription.  Make sure that your browser is set to accept cookies and that it can execute JavaScript's. 

  • Windows XP Internet Explorer 7 or later:
    • Open your browser select "Internet Options" from the tools menu
    • Click on the "Privacy tab"
    • Move the slider to "Medium"
    • Click the "OK" button.
  • Windows XP Firefox 3.5 or later:
    • Open your browser select "Options..." from the tools menu
    • Click the "Privacy" tab.
    • Select "Accept cookies from sites"
    • Select "Accept third-party cookies"
    • Click "OK" button.
  • For other browsers or versions please use your browser's "Help" menu.

3. How to delete cookies from my computer? 

  • Windows XP Internet Explorer 7 or later:
    • Open your browser select "Internet Options" from the tools menu
    • Click "Delete..." button under Browsing history section
    • Select "Cookies"
    • Click "Delete" button
    • Click the "OK" button.
  • Windows XP Firefox 3.5 or later:
    • Open your browser select "Options..." from the tools menu
    • Click the "privacy" tab.
    • Click "Show Cookies..." button
    • Click "Remove All Cookies" button
    • Click "Close" button
    • Click "OK" button.
  • For other browsers or versions please use your browser's "Help" menu.

5. How do I clear my cache or memory?

Web browsers store files in memory, or "cache," and over time this cache can get overburdened. Sometimes clearing the browser's cache will solve the problem you are experiencing. Clearing the cache forces the browser to actually re-visit the server and get a fresh copy of a particular web page, rather than using the cached copy.

  • Windows XP Internet Explorer 7 or later:
    • Open your browser select "Internet Options" from the tools menu
    • Click "Delete..." button under Browsing history section
    • Select "Cookies"
    • Click "Delete" button
    • Click the "OK" button.
  • Windows XP Firefox 3.5 or later:
    • Open your browser select "Clear Recent History..." from the tools menu
    • Click the "Details" button
    • Select "Cache"
    • Click "Clear Now" button
  • For other browsers or versions please use your browser's "Help" menu.

6. The maximum number of users has temporarily been reached'. It may be minutes or hours before the database again becomes available."

You see this message when the maximum number of users are logged in to the database. For this reason, it's very important that you click the Logout button when you are finished using a database. This frees the database for the next user.

7. Why can I access the databases from home, but not from work?

You may be connecting from work or somewhere that is behind a firewall (network security). Please contact your system administrator. (If you have a firewall at home and are having problems, make sure all "firewall" software is turned off.)