Library Circulation Policies: Library Circulation FAQs

1.  How do I find books, journals, DVDs, videos, ebooks and recordings in the library? 

• Search DSUs OPAC  to locate materials (see instructions) Ex: Keyword Search.
• Search DSU WorldCat Discover, A-to-Z List or Online eJournals & eBooks to locate electronic materials.

2.  How do I read a call number?

3.  What is the Library of Congress Classification System? 

• The Library of Congress Classification System (LC System) is used to organize materials in many academic and university libraries throughout the United States.

4.  Are laptops available for checkout?

• Yes, laptops are available to check out. You must fill out a laptop agreement to check out a laptop to use for a 4 hour block of time within the library. All laptops are renewable.

5.  How or where do I find a book once I have the call number? 

• Check the Directory of Library Collections located near the Online Catalogs
• The directory is also posted throughout the 1st - 5th floors of the library

6.  What should I do if I cannot find a book on the shelf?

• Browse the area in case of mis-shelving.
• Check area labeled "Waiting to be shelved".
• Check (OPAC) to determine status of the book (see instructions) Ex. Power Search.
• Report the book lost using the lost book online form or ask Circulation or Reference.  

7.  Where can I return books after library hours?

• After hours, library material may be returned in the book drop to the left of the entrance.

8.  Do I have to come to the library to renew a book?

• No.  You are allowed to renew books twice online (see instructions).
• You will not be allowed to renew if you have blocks/fines or overdue books.

9.  How to do locate ejournal information about a certain topic or subject?

• Research Subject Guides are also available to assist with your research

**Microfiche --Located on the second floor, please see Circulation/Reserves desk for assistance.

10.  How can I find a journal?

• Search the online catalog for print journals are located on the 2nd floor.
• Search DSU WorldCat Discover, A-to-Z List or eJournals Search to locate electronic materials.

11.  Can Reference, Microform, Delaware, or any Special Collections resource be checked out?

• No.  These resources are in-house library use only

12.  What if the library does not own what I need? 

• You can request a book or journal article from another library. This is called Interlibrary Loan / Resource Sharing (ILL).  
• You must submit your request via any electronic database or the online Interlibrary Resource Sharing Database (ILLiad).

13.  I am not affiliated with Delaware State University; can I still use the library?

• Anyone may use the library for research or reading; however, you must have a library card to check out library materials.
• Faculty, staff and students from other Delaware colleges and universities with the proper ID card may be granted borrowing privileges.
• Delaware residents 18 and over may also be granted borrowing privileges.
• For Delaware high school seniors, the  parent/guardian must be present for signature at time of application.

14.  Do you have SPSS software?

•  Yes, the software is loaded on the computers located on the 1st floor.

15.  Where is the lost and found?

• The Lost and Found area is located at the Circulation Desk.

16.  Where can I access the Internet?

• Anywhere in the building, the library is wireless.

17.  Is eating or drinking allowed in the library?

• Yes. Both are allowed in designated areas.

18.  Can I leave my unsupervised children in the library while I attend classes or do research?

• No. Do not leave your children under the age of 13 years unattended anywhere in the library.

19.  Can I access the catalog and periodical databases from my home or office computer?

• You may access the (OPAC) from DSU's web page.
• All databases are accessible at A-to-Z and Online Journals, Books and more